Saturday, June 27, 2015

Podcast - Mary Laura Philpott

Humorist Mary Laura Philpott handles social media duties for Ann Patchett's Parnassus Books in Nashville, TN. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times and USA Today. Perigee Books recently published a collection of her cartoons, Penguins with People Problems.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Podcast - Dolen Perkins-Valdez

After reading This Republic of Suffering by Harvard president and historian Drew Gilpin-Faust, a book which chronicles the Civil War’s legacy of death and destruction, New York Times-bestselling novelist Dolen Perkins-Valdez decided her next novel should investigate the possibilities of healing the personal and national trauma caused by the war. Balm looks not at the soldiers’ suffering but at the very real pain of widows, former slaves, and others.

Book Talk Schedule for the Week of June 22, 2015

M-F, 12:30 p.m.

Mon, June 22 - Robert Hicks "A Separate Country"
Tue, June 23 - Taylor Polites "The Rebel Wife"
Wed, June 24 - Dolen Perkins Valdez "Balm"
Thu, June 25 - Cary Holladay "The Deer in the Mirror"
Fri, June 26 - Mark Grisham and Scott Donaldson "Bedlam South"

Saturday, June 27

6:00 p.m. -  Mary Laura Philpot "Penguins with People Problems"
6:30 p.m. -  David Rees "How to Sharpen Pencils"

Friday, June 19, 2015

Podcast - William Boyle

William Boyle is originally from New York but now calls Oxford, Mississippi home. His first novel, Gravesend, was published in 2013, and his collection of short stories, Death Don't Have No Mercy, was recently released by Broken River Books.

Download here.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Podcast- Lyndsay Faye

Actor and novelist Lyndsay Faye's first novel was a continuation of the Sherlock Homes and John Watson universe called Dust and Shadow. She then moved her efforts to New York in the 1840s with The Gods of Gotham, Seven for a Secret, and the newest one featuring copper star policeman Timothy Wilde, The Fatal Flame.

Download here.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Podcast - Chantel Acevedo

Chantel Acevedo's first novel Love and Ghost Letters won the Latino International Book Award. Her third novel A Falling Star won the Doris Bakwin Award. And today we'll be talking about her new novel, The Distant Marvels, which is published by Europa Editions.

Download here.

Podcast - Richard Lange

Richard Lange is a former magazine editor and currently a writer of literary crime fiction. His novels are This Wicked World and Angel Baby, which won the Hammett Prize, and he's published two collections of short stories Dead Boys, and the book we'll talk about today, Sweet Nothing, which is available from Mullholland Books.

Download here.

Monday, June 15, 2015

Book Talk Schedule for the Week of June 15, 2015

M-F, 12:30 p.m.

Mon, June 15 - Eric Barnes "Something Pretty, Something Beautiful"
Tue, June 16 - Scott Phillips "Rake"
Wed, June 17 - William Boyle "Death Don't Have No Mercy"
Thu, June 18 - Hampton Sides "In the Kingdom of Ice"
Fri, June 19 - Joel Harrington "The Faithful Executioner"

Saturday, June 20

6:00 p.m. - Dolen Perkins Valdez "Balm"
6:30 p.m. - Taylor Polites "The Rebel Wife"

Monday, June 8, 2015

Book Talk Schedule for the Week of June 8, 2015

M-F, 12:30 p.m.

Mon, June 8 - Natalie Bakopoulos "The Green Shore"
Tue, June 9 - Geraldine Brooks "Caleb's Crossing"
Wed, June 10 - Lyndsay Faye "The Fatal Flame"
Thu, June 11 - Molly Caldwell Crosby  "The Great Pearl Heist"
Fri, June 12 - Julie Cantrell "When Mountains Move"

Saturday, June 13

6:00 p.m. - William Boyle "Death Don't Have No Mercy"
6:30 p.m. - Scott Phillips "Rake"

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Book Talk Schedule for the Week of June 1, 2015

M-F at 12:30 p.m.

Mon, June 1 - Soledad O'Brien "The Next Big Story"
Tue, June 2 - Oscar Hijuelos "Thoughts without Cigarettes"
Wed, June 3 - Chantel Acevedo "The Distant Marvels"
Thu, June 4 - Laura Lane McNeil "Doll Baby"
Fri, June 5 - Lisa Turner "Gone Dead Train"

Saturday, June 6

6:00 p.m. - Lyndsay Faye "The Fatal Flame"
6:30 p.m. - Geraldine Brooks "Caleb's Crossing"